top of page

Give an X in partnership with the Campaign for the Arts

Updated: Apr 18

Open letter from artists and creatives urging citizens to register to vote ahead of the upcoming voter registration deadline.

We, the undersigned, come together as creatives and artists, recognising the immense power held within each voice, especially those often underrepresented in our society. 

Art and creativity shapes and reflects the diverse experiences of our communities. It’s vital that politics does too, and that everyone’s voice is heard in our democracy. 

But in Britain today, as many as 8 million people are not registered to vote at their current address. Turnout of younger voters has been falling considerably.  New rules requiring photo ID risk excluding hundreds of thousands of citizens, and disproportionately affecting poorer people, those with disabilities and people from minority ethnic backgrounds.

We, the undersigned, stand united in our belief that participation in elections is not just a right, but a profound responsibility—one that should extend to everyone, at the heart of a vibrant democracy. 

That is why we urge you to join us in registering to vote for the upcoming local elections before the deadline of 23:59 on Tuesday 16 April, at Remember, you are also eligible to register if you are a qualifying EU or Commonwealth citizen. 

We join hands with the young people leading the Give an X campaign in emphasising the importance of young people shaping the future, and we urge each and every citizen to claim their seat at the table.

Voting is not just casting a ballot; it is narrating the stories of our communities and painting a vision of a better tomorrow. In the face of huge challenges nationally and globally, that has never been more important.

Let’s all of us write the next chapter together. We Give an X – will you?


Michael Sheen – Actor

Brian Cox - Actor

Paapa Essiedu – Actor

Meera Syal CBE – Actor and writer

Armando Iannucci OBE – Writer, director, producer and performer

Amelia Dimoldenberg – Comedian and presenter

Billy Bragg – Singer and songwriter

Samuel West – Actor and director

Sharon Gaffka – TV personality

Es Devlin CBE – Artist and designer

Ahir Shah – Comedian

Ralf Little – Actor and writer

James Graham OBE – Playwright

Sir Stephen Frears – Director

Sanjeev Bhaskar – Actor and comedian

Mei Mac – Actor

Sally Lindsay – Actor

Siobhán McSweeney – Actor and presenter

Misan Harriman – Photographer and Chair of the Southbank Centre

Sir Alistair Spalding CBE – Artistic Director, Sadler's Wells

Alice Aedy – Photographer, filmmaker and CEO of Earthrise Studio

David Lan CBE – Writer, producer and director

Georgia Harrison – TV personality

Kwame Kwei-Armah OBE – Artistic Director, Young Vic Theatre

Timothy Sheader – Artistic Director, Donmar Warehouse

Henny Finch – Executive Director, Donmar Warehouse

Paule Constable – Lighting designer and Associate Director of the National Theatre

Daniel Lismore – Sculptor and designer

Ed Jones – Comedian

Luke McQueen – Comedian

Elliot Levey – Actor

Seeta Indani – Dancer and actor

Joseph Henry – Architect

Charlie Condou – Actor

Jamie Carragher – Writer

Ania Magliano – Comedian

John O'Farrell – Author and scriptwriter

Emily Berrington – Actor

Bill Bankes-Jones – Director and Artistic Director of Tête à Tête

Rebecca Hendin – Illustrator

Natalie Gold – Actor

Jack Guinness – Writer and founder of The Queer Bible

Joe Bailey – CEO, Brighten the Corners/Out Loud Music

Queenie Miller – Comedian

Michael French – Head of Games London

Joseph Zeal-Henry – Director, Sound Advice

Sacha Lord – Co-founder of The Warehouse Project & Parklife festival

Sam Evans – Musical Director

Estelle van Warmelo – Director

Bernard Donoghue OBE – CEO, Association of Leading Visitor Attractions

Stephen Skeet – Director of Business Development and Impact, Volunteering Matters

Kayleigh Wainwright – Director of Youth Sector Innovation, UK Youth

Jack Gamble – Director, Campaign for the Arts

Mete Coban MBE – CEO, My Life My Say

Lauren Kay-Lambert – Co Managing Director, Shape History

Sami Gichki – Co-Chair of the #iWill Movement

Joe Bailey - CEO, Brighten The Corners

Simon Glenister - CEO, Noise Solution

Professor Francis Corner OBE - Warden, Goldsmiths University of London

Give an X is powered by My Life My Say, Shape History and the iWill Movement.

2,787 views0 comments


bottom of page